The Historical six Flags over Texas Theme Park

Texas is a large state that takes in a lot of territory and it’s a patriotic state that cannot be ignored; they fly the US flag, Old Glory, proudly. Yet, their history is important to them too. To keep that history alive and to bring in tourist and to celebrate Texas style, in 1961 a theme park designed in the fashion of the Disney Parks, The Six Flags over Texas opened in Arlington.

These six flags show that Texas has a fairly recent history but a colorful one and they’re not being boastful when they fly flags telling their story. The story of the Six Flags over Texas is an interesting one that is often overlooked when thinking of what to write about when contemplating the history of Texas. Most writers are familiar with the tragedy of the Alamo and will have no problem remembering what happened there; likewise they know that Texas was once Mexican territory but beyond that their thinking on this large 28th State often gets a little hazy; unless one happens to be resident of the state.

Old Glory

The most prominent flag is Old Glory with its thirteen red and white stripes and its fifty stars. Texas became a state in 1845 when James A. Polk was president. However, Texas was admitted to the United States twice: The first time was before the civil war when they joined the Union in 1844; the second time was after the war when they rejoined after having sided with the Confederates during the war. That automatically made them non Union citizens.

The Confederate Flag

When the war broke out between the North and the South over the slavery issue, Texas joined in with the confederates against the wishes of their governor, Sam Houston. He resigned. This flag flew over their territory from 1861 to 1865. The war was over for at least a month before the Texans knew about it. Therefore, their last battle was fought at Brownsville May 11, 1865. The war had ended with Lee’s surrender at Appomattox a month earlier.

Texas Flag

Texas won the battle with Santa Anna and his troops of Mexico in 1836 they were independent for several years (1836-1845) and flew their very own flag signifying their hard earned independence. Sam Houston was their governor and their capitol was then called Waterloo; it was later changed to Austin. This was to honor Stephen F. Austin, their founder.

Spanish Flag

The next three flags honor the first explorers and occupants from other countries that at one time or another controlled the area. From 1519 until 1821 Spain claimed the area. The first to come to the area were mapmakers Alfonso Alvarez de Pineda and Calieza de Vaca; then came the explorers Francisco Vasquez de Coronado in 1540 and in 1601 Juan Onate.

THE French flag

In 1865 until 1690 a Frenchman, Robert Lasalle tried to start a settlement in the area and started out by building a fort on Matagorda Bay. This was part of the Louisiana Territory and was in the area where the Mississippi started its long winding journey toward the gulf… The first 150 settlers were reduced to only forty by 1687. On his way to the Great Lakes area where France had holdings and could re-stock him with supplies and settlers, one of his men killed him.

The Mexican flag

Texas was part of Mexico when that country became independent from Spain on April 21, 1836. At about this time Stephen F Austin and three hundred settlers came to the area to start a settlement. The President of Mexico, Santa Anna sent his troops into the area to secure his rights to the territory and to keep peace. The new Texans began squabbling; they wanted to be independent of the Mexicans. Santa Anna, infuriated with the settlers after their declaration of independence, led troops to the Alamo and killed all the survivors there; then he went on to Gilead, the area of the first rebellion, and shot everyone there. That caused Sam Houston to lead his Texans into battle with Santa Anna along the banks of the Buffalo Bayou. Independence was won for Texas at the Battle of San Jacinto on April, 21, 1845.